Mahindra theatre awards presented in 14 categories

The theatre fraternity came together here for the Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META) red carpet where awards were given in 14 categories.

Veteran Mahesh Elkunchwar, critically acclaimed and widely known for having experimented with a wide range of drama, was presented the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award.

The jury for the 14th edition of META comprised theatre actor and screenwriter Akash Khurana; founder of India Foundation for the Arts Anmol Vellani; popular Indian actress Ila Arun; actor Kulbhushan Kharbanda; and Director of the India Habitat Centre Sunit Tandon, among others.

Hindi adaptation ‘Andha Yug’ won the 2019 META for Best Play along with Prakash Mangaldin Singh winning for Best Stage Design and Sajida Saji winning for Best Costume. Ranbir’s choice of films makes me envy him: Kartik

‘Agarbatti’ by Samagam Rangmandal bagged Best Director and Best Light Design for Swati Dubey and Best Original Script for Ashish Pathak.

Malayalam production ‘Chillara Samaram’ from Little Earth School Of Theatre, Kerala won two awards including Best Ensemble and Best Choreography.

This year’s edition of the festival saw a total of 414 entries, which were viewed by an eminent selection committee. Shortlisted plays were then presented at Shri Ram Centre and Kamani Auditorium here.

Promoted by the Mahindra Group as part of its cultural outreach, META is curated by Teamwork Arts. The award ceremony was held on Tuesday night.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker